The Library-Oops-Factor

A few days ago I went to my local library. I went, as I very often do, with the strict intention of returning a book, and then leave. After all, I have more than enough books on my current reading list, and even more unread books in my shelf.
I can proudly say I only left with four books and one DVD.

Library Haul_201509

From the Fantasy section, I got myself a little treat of my childhood, Das letzte Einhorn (The Last Unicorn) by Peter S. Beagle. The book also includes the story Zwei Herzen (Two Hearts). I am looking very forward to reading this. It is in German.

A reminder of my early teens is Die Krone von Camelot (Down the Long Wind) by Gillian Bradshaw. It includes all three parts: Der Falke des Lichts (Hawk of May), Das Königreich des Sommers (Kingdom of Summer), and Die Krone von Camelot (In Winter’s Shadow). I have started my pursuit of King Arthur with Marion Zimmer Bradley, and have since then read several versions of the tale, as well as watched a few film adaptations. Here’s to another one! It is in German.

In an attempt to improve my knowledge of big literature, I ventured into the English section of the library, and grabbed The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger.

Since I read Rick Riordon’s Percy Jackson series and everything that followed it, I am interested in the Greek Mythology, which directed me into the religion section of the library. I got Griechische Mythologie (Greek Mythology) by Robert von Ranke-Graves. It tells of important names, settings and events. It is in German.

Happy Reading to myself!

 

Library Haul_201509

Vor einigen Tages ging ich in die Stadtbibliothek. Ich ging, wie so oft, mit der Absicht nur ein Buch abzugeben und das Gebäude wieder zu verlassen. Immerhin habe ich mehr als genug Bücher auf meiner derzeitige Leseliste, und noch mehr ungelesene Bücher in meinem Regal.
Ich kann also mit Stolz sagen, dass ich mit nur vier Büchern und einer DVD wieder herauskam.

Aus der Fantasy-Abteilung habe ich meiner Kindheit ein kleines Geschenk gemacht, Das letzte Einhorn von Peter S. Beagle. Das Buch umfasst außerdem die Geschichte Zwei Herzen. Ich freue mich schon sehr darauf, dieses Buch zu lesen.

In Erinnerung an die Anfänge meiner Zeit als Teenager ist Die Krone von Camelot von Gillian Bradshaw. Der Band enthält alle drei Teile, Der Falke des Lichts, Das Königreich des Sommers und Die Krone von Camelot. Ich begann mit der König Artus Sage mit Marion Zimmer Bradley und habe seither einige Versionen der Geschichte gelesen und auch ein paar Film-Versionen gesehen. Und noch eine!

The Catcher in the Rye (Der Fänger im Roggen) von J.D. Salinger ist ein Versuch, mein Literatur-Wissen zu erweitern, also nahm ich mir dieses Buch aus der englischsprachigen Abteilung mit.

Seit ich die Percy Jackson Reihe und alles was dazu gehört von Rick Riordon gelesen habe, bin ich an griechischer Mythologie interessiert. Deswegen ging ich auch noch in die Religion-Abteilung und wählte Griechische Mythologie von Robert von Ranke-Graves. Es berichtet von allen wichtigen Namen, Orten und Geschehnissen.

Ich kann es kaum abwarten, zu lesen zu beginnen!

Leave a Reply

