Dream Dark (Caster Chronicles #2.5) by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl (3.3 Stars)

The Book

This little extra describes Link’s transformation after the group returns from the Great Barrier. A few days later, Link starts to discover changes in himself, lack of hunger, loss of baby fat, a growth spurt, and an increasingly muscular frame. Not being the smartest cookie in the jar, he only slowly realizes this might come from the fact that he was bitten by John Breed. Link is becoming an Incubus. The Linkubus.

Why I Read The Book

Strictly curiosity. I don’t have the highest expectations of these extra scenes, they’ve disappointed me too often. But I did enjoy the series, so I thought, the more the merrier!

The Idea

Basically, this is a Coming of Age story. It tells of Link’s first experiences as an Incubus, how he grows into his new body, and finally finds himself and his role in the bigger set of events. It is written from Ethan’s perspective, even though he hardly makes an appearance.

Characters, Realization and Writing Style

The beginning of this little extra is very uneven story-telling, something that surprised and disappointed me in view of all the full books. Luckily, it got better after the second chapter. Overall, however, these scenes are a good example as to why the book series is written from Ethan’s perspective and not from an all-knowing narrator, because even Ethan in first person telling about Link in third person sounds from a little to very awkward.

Character-wise there were few surprises. I was glad to read a little more about Ridley as a Mortal, especially immediately after her transformation and their return from the Great Barrier. Even with her little secret, it shows that she has a hard time dealing. But it also becomes even clearer just what she is feeling for Link, as well as the fact that she is utterly jealous of his new status as immortal. She fights hard against it, but she can actually be really sweet.

Of course, this extra focuses entirely on Link. I had quite a good laugh at how he started to realize that something was going on with him. Between his second and third helping at breakfast. Furthermore, it was a complete delight to get a real glimpse into the Lincoln household – even if I never ever would want to live there.

I would have liked to read Link’s story in Link’s voice, instead of a retelling from Ethan. I think that Link’s head must be a wonderful place to be at, and seeing the way he was processing all these changes would have been a real treat. I don’t doubt that Ethan captured much of the developments, but he narrated and interpreted in his words. I imagine Link’s to be very different.

I read these extra chapters after I finished the series. Consequently, there were few surprises for me overall. I wonder how this would have changed, had I actually read this in position 2.5. Would it have spoilered me on certain events, or would they have become more logical, eventually reading about them in the series? Both, in a way, I suppose.

After Reading

Well, that was ok.

Rating

Idea: 4 Stars
Characters: 3 Stars
Realization: 3 Stars
Writing Style: 3 Stars
General Rating: 4 Stars
Personal Rating: 3 Stars

Leave a Reply

