Lady Bridget’s Diary (Keeping Up With the Cavendishes #1) by Maya Rodale (4 Stars)

She had seen true love firsthand: her own parents were wildly, madly, catch-them-kissing-in-the-corridor in love. That was what Bridget wanted to find for herself.
[…]
“The kind of love you throw a dukedom away for.”

Yes, I admit, I was sold for this story the moment I read “Lord Darcy”.

It certainly was not for the Bridget part. I have seen that film once, and I daresay I didn’t like it very much. Pride and Prejudice, on the other hand, has been in my heart for a long time, and I was curious in how far this book would be based on the classic novel by the timeless Jane Austen.

The thing about this book was that it was neither a new interpretation of the classic novel, nor a book on its own. It was the awkward middle, neither here nor there. New ideas paired with scenes almost taken word by word.

It’s a truth universally acknowledged that the ton liked to gossip…

Even though I was sometimes misled by the above mentioned, I truly liked reading this book – seeing as it took me less than 24 hours.

Bridget was a wonderful leading lady. I enjoyed reading about her attempts to fit in but at the same time missing the old times, her determination to change and assimilate but also her growing into herself and finally being herself. There was nothing better than her keeping count of everything in her diary.

Tomorrow. She would begin becoming perfect tomorrow.

Lord Darcy was wonderfully broody when introduced, but even though or maybe especially because I knew what was going to happen, I never quite believed him. Bridget was utterly quick to judge, it was unfounded, and the frequent changes to his point of view shattered the image of the hard man by showing his soft core on page two. His picture was painted as romantic too soon.

For me personally, even though it usually annoys me but sometimes it is needed, there was too much “they will” and not enough “will they, won’t they”.

And the truth was that he found himself flummoxed […] He was never flummoxed, confused, or any state other than perfectly calm or collected […] So it was shocking that he found himself flummoxed, and it was unthinkable that the cause was an American woman sprawled on the floor of a ballroom.

I did enjoy the side stories, some of which I understand will get a sequel. Especially well-placed was Rupert’s story. I didn’t see it coming (even though I admit that I should have) and I was wondering how it could be done, without it being too awkward, that the brothers don’t end up being rivals. It shows, how far we’ve actually come since these times, but also makes us aware that we are not quite where Darcy is, immediately.

Darcy believed in order […] But the simple fact was that he loved his brother more.

I also feel that I have a much better understanding of British values of the haute ton now – assuming that everything portrayed was based on fact. It is scary how well put-together Darcy was made by the hands of his father, or how important and painful it is to become a person such as Lady Francesca. There are advantages and disadvantages to every social standing, I suppose.

Except he was Darcy, and so never did something as mundane as having lint on his jacket.

It’s a good, relaxing read, not comparable to Jane Austen in depth, but not as “easy” as I expect Bridget Jones’ Diary to be (after only seeing the film).

Rating

Idea: 4 Stars
Characters: 4 Stars
Realization: 4 Stars
Writing Style: 4 Stars
General Rating: 4 Stars
Personal Rating: 4 Stars

Leave a Reply

