The Bane Chronicles #1 – #4

What Really Happened in Peru

What really happened in Peru (The Bane Chronicles #1) by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan (3.8 Stars)

The first thing I noticed while reading was the language; wonderful, old-fashioned, educated language. I really enjoy reading that! It fit the time, expressions used to describe Magnus, and his way of speaking and thinking.

Then I wondered about Peru during the periods that were described. I felt like I were actually there, seeing the buildings and streets. From my absolutely ignorant perspective, it sounded all very well researched. And finally, I thought that a short story was not enough for everything that can happen in Peru, because it turned out to be a little cramped into that story, only hints and never enough time to tell about what really happened during Magnus’s uncountable adventures.

I winced a little bit when he fell in love. Not only because the only person for him, forever, can ever be Alec, but moreover because it couldn’t possibly end well. It never can, for him, living on. And he clearly already is a very signed soul. Poor boy. While I was surprised by the way it ended, I can’t say it was very original. Wasn’t his closed-off-ness exactly what troubled Alec?

What I liked even less than that was the way Magnus dealt with his heartbreak and the repercussions that came from his behaviour. Getting this drunk? And not for the first time? But not learning anything from it and drinking again a few days later? But I am getting ahead of myself a little bit. I think Magnus should have known better than to react this way. It shouldn’t have been this shocking to be broken up with and for this reason. He could have moved on by actually telling the boy something, like the part where be planned a life for them, instead of running off like that. There were so many other things he could have done to divert his thoughts. I’m sure he’s lived long enough to know quite a few of them.

I understand that the book aimed more fore jokes than for seriousness and morale, but, unfortunately, it couldn’t reach me.

Rating

Idea/Realization: 3 Stars
Writing Style: 5 Stars
General Rating: 4 Stars
Personal Rating: 3 Stars

The Runaway Queen

The Runaway Queen (The Bane Chronicles #2) by Cassandra Clare and Maureen Johnson (4.3 Stars)

 Magnus seems to have incredible luck (?) in finding black-haired, blue-eyed beauties. And I am ever so glad he decided to write his memoires!

Stories such as this one make me want to research background and historical fact right away. I know I studied it in school, but never with as much interest as I have now that I could study it in connection to this story – might it be fiction!

I quite enjoyed this story. Looking at Paris at the eve of Revolution, the end of monarchy, and of course the notorious Versailles with its queen Marie-Antoinette. There has never been a more fitting scene and people for someone like Magnus Bane in history.

While, once more, I found it curious to learn more about Magnus’s character, ideals and fashion believe, I am also curiously flummoxed by the way he chooses his partners. I’m not sure yet how it happens, if there is some kind of magic to it, and I am most certainly curious, with the example of Axel (isn’t he, name-wise, just the perfect forerunner for Alec?), if he is the only man he’d ever been and will ever be with? As I said, I wonder about the magic of the situation, or if it is natural and uninhibited. And I wonder if Magnus’s instincts are always right, about considering them trustworthy and allies.

I find it funny that the story had a similar ending to that of the previous story. Will they continue like that?

The story was, no surprise, well-written and seemed to me to be well-researched. A good read with a good bit of historical background.

Rating

Idea/Realization: 4 Stars
Writing Style: 5 Stars
General Rating: 4 Stars
Personal Rating: 4 Stars

Vampires, Scones, and Edmund Herondale

Vampire, Scones, and Edmund Herondale (The Bane Chronicles #3) by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan (4.3 Stars)

Now here’s a story that I wanted to read ever since I read the title.

I don’t know if I should dislike it because of the portrayal of all these discriminations or if I should like it for its brutal honesty about the Shadowhunters’ stupid codes and laws. The thing I so often don’t understand is how a group of intelligent people can actually believe that. Then again, I suppose, if you never know anything else, and don’t take the time, or are not given the time to consider the situation, you never know that things could be different.

I liked Edmund Herondale in a way that he allowed himself to be changed so completely. I can’t deal well with the amount of arrogance he displayed at the beginning of the story, but I am in awe of his love of life in spite of the things he’s been trained for and sees every day. He, obviously, could have been one person to inspire change within the rules of the Shadowhunter community, because he has seen the what is out there, and experienced the world from the outside. But he was silenced too quickly. And what a horrible way of being silenced. Having this pain once is hopefully better than living a lifetime without the potential love of your life.

As I have been getting used to with these short stories, there are so many more layers, several stories told parallel and in this one, we are introduced to Camille Belcourt. It is a problem, knowing what will happen in the future. But from an objective perspective through Magnus’s subjective eyes, she appears to be a quite-alright character. But I will have to admit that their first meeting came a lot later than I expected. I thought it might have been in the 1700s or early 1800s.

May I have a scone now, please?

Rating

Idea/Realization: 4 Stars
Writing Style: 5 Stars
General Rating: 4 Stars
Personal Rating: 4 Stars

The Midnight Heir

The Midnight Heir (The Bane Chronicles #4) by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan (3.8 Stars)

 I’m reading this without having read The Infernal Devices. I am totally spoiling myself. I must rectify this situation soon.

I mustn’t speak of the excellent writing in this, once more, but I feel the necessity to state how rich in fantasy and originality of ideas this story was. That part of this was due to massive alcohol consumption, I am almost willing to overlook. Almost.

Unfortunately, however, most stories surrounding Magnus Bane seem to happen while someone is being drunk. This time, apparently, there was a reason for drinking, even though we never learn it. So, in this story, I am annoyed by the fact that all these stories have an open end. Where’s the note telling me where I can find the solution?

Apart from that, we got another cruel, wonderful look into the abyss that is the Shadowhunter community. I am more and more inclined to think that I wouldn’t want to be part of this world. Magnus’s outsider perspective can really help here. But, for the most part, in the second story told here, I was amused that the family name is Lightwood, Magnus’s thoughts towards this family, and my knowledge of the future. Nothing better!

I got a bit annoyed with this story in the second half. For some reason, Magnus felt like he had to constantly repeat the love shared in the Herondale household, as well as his fond or not memories of Camille. One, I haven’t read anything else about the people that’s to become the Herondale household, but I got the loving bond they share after the first time he mentioned it. Two, what the heck happened with Camille?

So, even though I got a bit impatient at times, I did like the general story.

Rating

Idea/Realization: 3 Stars
Writing Style: 5 Stars
General Rating: 4 Stars
Personal Rating: 3 Stars

Leave a Reply

