The Bane Chronicles #5 – #8

The Rise of the Hotel Dumort

The Rise of the Hotel Dumort (The Bane Chronicles #5) by Cassandra Clare and Maureen Johnson (4.8 Stars)

New York, Late September 1929. For those who read my edition, this is vital information. As it took me a while to find out the year this story takes place. I started reading, thinking it was 1903, but the fashion, laws, and economic disasters didn’t make sense.

This story is just a gem when it comes to American history, isn’t it? I felt really tested – mostly due to the editing mistake, but I’m still happy I got it just about right. So, once more, I feel the need to say: Well researched. Especially, since I never knew what the people’s immediate reaction was when finding out that the system had crashed. Really interesting, thank you for that!

Even though there was, again, massive consumption of alcohol in this story, what I really liked was the interaction between the characters, particularly between Magnus and the Shadowhunters. That was … almost amiable. Plus, the surprising fact that Magnus did care for Alfie after all. And finally that Magnus acted of his own volition, even though there wasn’t money involved, or fun, making love, or drinking.

When it comes to Magnus and his humanity and normalcy, I think this was the best story so far. His actions were (entirely) unselfish.

I will admit that I expected more vampires from the title. But I think I like it more, to see that the rise of the Hotel DuMort didn’t start with them, but someone else, and just a little bit darker.

Rating

Idea/Realization: 4 Stars
Writing Style: 5 Stars
General Rating: 5 Stars
Personal Rating: 5 Stars

Saving Raphael Santiago

Saving Raphael Santiago (The Bane Chronicles #6) by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan (3.8 Stars)

 So… Magnus is the warlock for those with problems. Define problem? Of course, he needs an equivalent human profession. I love the idea of him as a PI.

I feel like there’s a change going on in Magnus that is very unexpected. In the beginning of this collection he says that he feels, by getting older, that falling in love is getting more painful, that seeing life come and go for humans but living on himself is difficult to process, and he observes with older creatures, may they be vampires or warlocks, that they lose their connection to humanity with increasing years. Magnus, it appeared to me, was very detached from everyone he didn’t consider a friend, and he didn’t let many people close enough, especially not many with limited time. But for the last two or three stories, I felt there was a development towards a more human Magnus, instead of the opposite. I’m, personally, not complaining. From a general perspective, however, I don’t understand how this happened. What makes him more human now, when he’s known so much more loss and pain, than when he was younger?

Unfortunately, that made this story less interesting than the previous ones. However, Raphael saves the day by constantly challenging Magnus. It gives the reader another perspective on Magnus. And Magnus keeps helping him, because Raphael needs someone – which Raphael seems to know.

I struggled a bit with Raphael himself. It’s the same thing with him as it is with Bella Cullen in Breaking Dawn, maybe even more so with him. How can he be so strong and in control of his instinct and urges? His iron will shouldn’t be possible, not so quickly, not without messing up big time once or twice. It doesn’t make sense to me. I felt that, therefore, this story was artificial and far less natural than the others. (Seriously, when did I begin stumping a happy end?)

Finally, haha, I like that Magnus decides to have a cat and celebrate its birthday every year. Reminds me of something…

Rating

Idea/Realization: 3 Stars
Writing Style: 4 Stars
General Rating: 3 Stars
Personal Rating: 5 Stars

The Fall of the Hotel Dumort

The Fall of the Hotel Dumort (The Bane Chronicles #7) by Cassandra Clare and Maureen Johnson (4.3 Stars)

I didn’t expect this, when I read the title about the fall of the hotel. But it makes for the best story so far, from a moral perspective.

I will admit that, as soon as Magnus started seeing the vampires, I knew what was going to be wrong with them. I was just surprised it took Magnus and Lincoln so long, even though the latter had an inkling. And then the typical thing happened, just as it did in the story of The Rise of the Hotel DuMort. They knew that something was coming, but they waited until the catastrophe was on their hands.

I thought previously, the descriptions (I know that I keep saying that I like them, but bear with me) were very real. The frequency in which blood was mentioned over this as well as the past two stories, was, well, sickening, to be honest. But with all its honesty, it therefore makes for a very educating story. The fall that follows consumption of drugs was detailed enough to scare anyone away. Especially, since not even the Lady Camille could withstand the downfall. (I am not going to talk about Raphael’s iron will, no, no more.) Personally, I wouldn’t have minded the vampires to suffer their becoming clean a little longer, you know, to make it even more realistic. And brutal. Brutally honest.

On the other hand, I enjoyed seeing the Downworlders sticking and working together. I was amused by their every intention to keep the Shadowhunters far away from the situation. One, it just proves that the Shadowhunters are far too arrogant and don’t have a clue about what’s going on in the city. Two, that the Downworlders can take care of themselves, while the Shadowhunters are frequently in need of their assistance – even if they wouldn’t exactly word it like that. Oh my, I’m really moving towards being Team Downworlders. They took care of the problem among their own, not by blade first, question later, but by giving them a chance, survive and learn from the past.

Working this out, it appears I liked the story more than I originally thought.

Rating

Idea/Realization: 4 Stars
Writing Style: 4 Stars
General Rating: 5 Stars
Personal Rating: 4 Stars

What to Buy the Shadowhunter Who Has Everything

What to Buy the Shadowhunter Who Has Everything [And Who You’re Not Officially Dating Anyway] (The Bane Chronicles #8) by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan (4.5 Stars)

 Yes, I admit that there were paragraphs in this story that I read again and again just because they were so perfect!

And maybe I read the story once more just before writing this review. This was, after all, the story and the reason I started reading this book at all. More about Magnus and Alec. And, hadn’t it been for the side story about humans who surprisingly know a lot about the Shadow World, it would have been the best story ever. Magnus was so amazingly in love. Alec is the right one for him, after all.

Yes, so, I could have done without Miss Connor and her stupid clients and stupid wishes and the unexpected but fortunate turn of events. How could this even be allowed, a company to get such deep knowledge? I wasn’t overly fond of the demon, either, though he did have a few good lines.

To answer the question of the title, it was a perfect solution. I mean, of course, it was a little coincidental how it all worked out, but it was a good, perfect solution nonetheless.

Rating

Idea/Realization: 4 Stars
Writing Style: 5 Stars
General Rating: 4 Stars
Personal Rating: 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

