The Bane Chronicles #9 – #11

The Last Stand of the New York Institute

The Last Stand of the New York Institute (The Bane Chronicles #9) by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson (4 Stars)

Here is a story I didn’t know that I wanted to read about and when I did it was wonderful, satisfying and enlightening. I feel like I’ve learned so much in this one story. It gave the kind of background information that had been missing to make a complete picture. And now I have it.

It was the year of my birth, shortly before the fall of the Berlin Wall… wait, that was the wrong bit of history. (But it was my first thought upon seeing the year the story takes place.)

I loved the piece of society background information at the beginning of the story – as I did so often in this collection. I am also endlessly fond of the message Magnus is sending his readers. The ignorance of the people.

The story got even more interesting when learning that this was about the Circle. It’s good to see them in action, not just hear stories about them, and even more so, to see the members interact with each other and with outsiders – might it be other Shadowhunters or Downworlders.

Without wanting to give anything away, I need to say that my hand was a lot over my mouth, stifling a shocked gasp at what was going on. It shouldn’t have surprised me, but for some reason it did.

And may I just add: Magnus’s thoughts about the Lightwoods and their son? Their son especially? How very, very wrong he was…

Rating

Idea/Realization: 4 Stars
Writing Style: 4 Stars
General Rating: 4 Stars
Personal Rating: 4 Stars

The Course of True Love

The Course of True Love [and First Dates] (The Bane Chronicles #10) by Cassandra Clare (3.3 Stars)

If you are struggling with the first 10 or 15 pages of the story – don’t worry, it’ll get better!

I must admit that, hadn’t it been a Malec story, I would have let it go after the first few pages. It was so awkward, too much, and desperately trying to be funny that it hurt. But it was Malec, and I knew where they were going to end up, so I was sure that it couldn’t end in the catastrophe that announced itself in the beginning.

I had noticed it before, but in this one exceptionally so. Magnus has a surprising knowledge of people and skills in observing them. At times, however, it feels more like justifying anyone’s actions than actual, possible deduction. The way Magnus repeatedly explains Alec’s actions, here, is more detailed than anything that would ever have come from Alec’s point of view, even if we had an entire book to get to know Alec. I am, at that, repeatedly surprised at how wrong my original understanding of his, Alec’s, character was, how different he appears through Magnus’s eyes.

I liked seeing the beginnings of them becoming a perfect team and them working together. I think this date showed their potential very well, and also where they can develop to as soon as they know each other. Because for not knowing each other, they solved that situation that arose perfectly.

And then they went…

I do wish for more Malec stories!

Rating

Idea/Realization: 3 Stars
Writing Style: 4 Stars
General Rating: 3 Stars
Personal Rating: 3 Stars

The Voicemail of Magnus Bane

The Voicemail of Magnus Bane (The Bane Chronicles #11) by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson (2 Stars)

This story was not part of the book edition I read – thanks goodreads for showing me all books/stories that belong to one series!

Unfortunately, that it is an additional little something doesn’t make the story especially special.

While reading this little extra, I kept contemplating whether I should take this serious, whether it should be part of the official canon (for me), or whether I simply have the wrong friends. I came to the conclusion that this was (supposed to be) an entertaining little piece that I shouldn’t take especially serious. Maybe it happened, maybe it didn’t. Won’t change my mind of the Shadowhunter universe.

Even more so than in other stories of this collection, and of which I have complained before, this aimed to be funny and did so in a painful way. To me, it was too much of everything and too little of… life and reality.

Rating

Idea/Realization: 2 Stars
Writing Style: 2 Stars
General Rating: 2 Stars
Personal Rating: 2 Stars

Leave a Reply

