Book Shopping 3.2016

Yesterday, I went, quite spontaneously and with a bit too much money in my pockets, to the bookstore. Now, they have to restock that very small shelf of English books.

No, it wasn’t quite so drastic, but I definitely exceeded my limit. And I don’t even feel guilty.

Without further ado, here they are:

The Little Shop of Happy Ever After

The Little Shop of Happy Ever After by Jenny Colgan

This is the first book I had my hands on and wouldn’t let go. I actually recently received an ARC from the newly established German NetGalley by this author that I am looking forward to reading. As I do with this novel of hers. However, what really sold me to this one is the blurb. Read on to understand:

Sometimes I think being a reader is kind of like being in a special club. Like, we know that there’s nothing better than curling up with a good book in front of the fire or on a sun-lounger or under a tree, but sometime I feel maybe we’re the only people who know that reading is different to (and better than) all the crazy-busy stuff we all get caught up with every day.
So, I’ve written a book for and about readers. Nina is a bookworm who dreams of running her own little bookshop. But real life is a bit trickier than the stories Nina loves, as she discovers when she moves to the beautiful highlands of Scotland to turn her dreams into reality…
I’ve tried to write the kind of book I love, cosy, funny (HOPEFULLY), with cute guys (OBVIOUSLY), but also entirely dedicated to us: the book lovers, the readers.
So come join our gang!
Very warmest wishes,
Jenny xxx

I mean… right? You cannot not buy this book!

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

Basically, I bought this one because everyone seems to be talking about it, and I want to be part of the talk. I’m a bit scared and super excited to get started. Expectations are high.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time is a murder mystery novel like no other. The detective, and narrator, is Christopher Bone. Christopher is fifteen and has Asperger’s Syndrome. He knows a very great deal about maths and very little about human beings He loves lists, patterns and the truth. He hates the colours yellow and brown and being touched. He has never gone further than the end of the road on his own, but when he finds a neighbour’s dog is murdered, he sets out on a terrifying journey which will turn his whole world upside down.

Rivers of London

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

I’ve been to the bookstore a few days ago already and had been considering this book, however, I didn’t buy anything – I wasn’t on my own and my companions weren’t too crazy about spending half the day at the bookstore. Why I even took the book out of the shelf in the first place, and what I think the reason I decided to buy it after all, was the title. London. Spoke to me, sue me. I do enjoy the occasional crime story, but usually as a present or from the library, not bought by myself for myself. But then the blurb said magic and I got curious. So, here I am, book number three.

“I used to be a probationary constable in that mighty army for justice known to all right-thinking people as the Metropolitan Police Service, and to everyone else as the Filth…”
Meet PC Peter Grant. He will show you his city. But it’s not the capital that you all see as you make your way from tube to bus, from Elephant to Castle. It’s a city that under its dark surface is packed full of crime. And of magic. A city that you never suspected…
Grant’s story starts when he tries to take a witness statement from a man who was already dead. And takes him down a twisting, turning centuries’ old mystery that reckons to set modern London on fire…

Zwischen Licht und Finsternis

Zwischen Licht und Finsternis by Lucy Inglis

I intended to leave it at that, but as I walked down the stairs, towards the cashier’s, my eyes fell on the German and much bigger shelves of Young Adult and Fantasy and the so-called shelves of “Junge Fantasy” (Young Fantasy). It was very hard to only stick to book number four and not make it five, six, seven, … The English title is City of Halves. And it takes place in… London.

London, heute. Mädchen verschwinden. Und seltsame Kreaturen tauchen auf den Straßen auf. Fast wäre Lily von einem zweiköpfigen Hund getötet worden. Doch urplötzlich steht Regan vor ihr – gut aussehend, geheimnisvoll und faszinierend. Merkwürdig, dass er ihre seltene Blutgruppe kennt, aber noch merkwürdiger, dass es eine Verbindung zwischen Lily, Regan und den verschwundenen Mädchen geben soll. Von einer auf die andere Sekunde befindet sich Lily in einem Strudel aus Verbrechen und Verrat, Verschwörung und Leidenschaft, Licht und Finsternis.

Leave a Reply

