Birthday-Book Shopping

Okay, so, you know how it is. It’s your birthday, people give you money, you go to the next-best book-shop to spend it all. Well, I cannot go to the next-best, ‘cause they only do German, so I went to town and into Thalia. They have one mini-shelf with English books in which I usually find one I’d like to read. Or two. You know, I’m flexible like that.

I also went to the German side of things for two reasons. 1) So much more to choose from. 2) I’m tending to forget the German language, my mother tongue after all, when I spend too much time in the English-speaking realm. So, every once in a while, it needs to be a book in German.

The Masked City

The Masked City by Genevieve Cogman

First book I chose, because I had been looking at it before at a time when I couldn’t buy it. I was quite happy to still find it there three or so weeks later. I’m also pretty sure it was in my goodreads recs some time or another. What sold me – I know the title is brilliant – was it taking place it Victorian London/Venice. I mean… right?

I know this is the second in a series, but so far I’m not too worried about not having (read) the first one. And I might get it, if this one turns out to be amazing!

A secret agent.
A missing assistant.
And a World in Danger.

Irene is ready for action –
but so are her adversaries

Irene is working undercover in an alternative Victorian London. For this librarian spy, it’s business as usual – until her assistant Kai is abducted. Kai’s hidden dragon heritage means he has powerful enemies, and this act of aggression could trigger war between his people and their greatest rivals. As they each represent the forces of order and chaos themselves, matters could turn unpleasant.

Irene’s mission to save Kai and advert Armageddon will take her to dark, alternate Venice where it’s always Carnival. Here Irene will be forced to blackmail, fast talk, and fight. Or she’ll face mayhem – at the very least.

Maybe Someday

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

Second birthday-book, and I’ve already started reading it. I wanted a romance, I thought I should read something other than fantasy, I’d heard the author’s name before, it was about music! Starting it, it was like hook, line, sinker. I’m having a hard time stopping and tending to other, unfortunately more important, things (like blogging, haha).

I am also very emotionally and morally conflicted with this book and how I want it to develop. And I am very scared that it will turn out having a very easy and predictable solution.

I found that it is part of a series, so I am hopeful that there is something to look forward to.

Colleen Hoover draws you in to this passionate tale of music, love and betrayal…

Sydney is living in an idyllic bubble – she’s a dedicated student with a steady job on the side. She lives with her best friend, has a great boyfriend, and the music coming from the balcony opposite hers is fast becoming the soundtrack of her life.

But when Sydney finds out her boyfriend is cheating on her, the bubble bursts. The mysterious and attractive man behind the music, Ridge, gives Sydney hope that she can move on and they begin to write songs together. But moving on is harder than she expects, Sydney can only hope…

Maybe Someday…

Featuring music from Griffin Peterson.

Die Chroniken der Fae

Die Chroniken der Fae: Aus Papier und Asche (A Crack in Everything) by Ruth Frances Long

This one’s in German. The reason I had to have it? Started simply with the word “Fae” (Sidhe). And maybe the wings on the cover. I’m not sure if I even read half through the blurb before I decided that I needed it. So, I’m not really sure what it is about. But I do know that one of the words on the back of the book were Dublin. Ireland is always good to have mythical stuff happen – even if my own adventures there weren’t quite so… fantastic.

It’s part of a series. We’ll see…

Jinx küsste sie, und jeder bewusste Gedanke setzte aus, als Izzy sich dabei ertappte, wie sie seinen Kuss gegen alle Wahrscheinlichkeit erwiderte.

Durch einen Zufall stolpert Izzy in das Schattenreich Dubh Linn, das mit dem heutigen Dublin eng verwoben ist. Doch kein Sterblicher soll das Reich der Fae und Engel, Dämonen und Grigori betreten. Izzys Leben liegt von da an in der Hand des attraktive Fae-Kriegers Jinx, aber kann sie ihm vertrauen? Bald schon sind Izzy und Jinx verwickelt in einen jahrtausendalten Krieg zwischen den Welten. Und es scheint, als könne nur die Liebe, die ihnen verboten ist, sie retten…

Das Reich der Fae – dunkel, wild, mysteriös

goodreads says:

Welcome to The Other Side …
Chasing a thief, Izzy Gregory takes a wrong turn down a Dublin alley and finds the ashes of a fallen angel splashed across the dirty bricks like graffiti. She stumbles into Dubh Linn, the shadowy world inhabited by the Sidhe, where angels and demons watch over the affairs of mortals, and Izzy becomes a pawn in their deadly game. Her only chance of survival lies in the hands of Jinx, the Sidhe warrior sent to capture her for his sadistic mistress, Holly. Izzy is something altogether new to him, turning his world upside down.
A thrilling, thought-provoking journey to the magic that lies just beside reality.

Leave a Reply

