The Elite (Selection #2) by Kiera Cass (2.8 Stars)

“You could probably change lots of lives. And all you want to do is settle the score. That’s not going to get anyone anywhere.”

The weird thing about this books is that even though I didn’t like it much, I couldn’t stop reading.

It is weird, not liking a book that you cannot let go of because you just have to know how it ends. The main reason these things happen is when the basic idea of the book is really very good, and you make up all these crazy theories about what should happen, and then secretly hope that the story will trump these theories sevenfold. That would make a great book! You do, however, start disliking said book, when none of your theories remotely come true, when the book moves into a different direction than you hoped it would and you cannot arrange your own thoughts with what is actually happening. This was certainly a reason for me to not like the book. The main reason, however, was the lack of development in what I understood to be the leading plot line.

For this being a book of a series called Selection, I felt that there was little selecting going on. Was this book just supposed to be a bridge between starting the Selection and ending the Selection? A bridge that was supposed to explain the world, the characters and the politics? It may have achieved that (not to my complete satisfaction) but there wasn’t much else. So, yes, what annoyed me most about this book was the lack selecting.

Also, I just wanted to scream at America to finally make up her mind and get there – wherever it is that she was supposed to go. But she appeared to be changing her mind by the chapter. I felt that she was more erratic and impulsive than Clary in The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, and her, Clary, I could hardly stand towards the end (I do love that series, not matter what, though).

Don’t get me wrong, there were interesting parts to this book, especially America learning about her country’s past, and most of all the writing style. But that doesn’t change the fact that we could have kind of made without it and just moved on to the next book, giving it just that tad bit more material that was interesting and necessary in this one.

Since I was, strangely, so caught up in reading, and I usually find that a very, very good thing, I am absolutely torn about rating this book. But, in the end, it didn’t give me much of what I wanted and could have accepted.

Rating

Idea: 3 Stars
Characters: 3 Stars
Realization: 2 Stars
Writing Style: 4 Stars
General Rating: 3 Stars
Personal Rating: 2 Stars

Leave a Reply

