The Selection (Selection #1) by Kiera Cass (4.2 Stars)

This thing that seemed like little more than a game show to me was his only chance for happiness.

I considered reading this book for a very long time. There was something about the theme that had me interested, even more so because from the beginning it was obvious which of the girls would be selected, and disgusted. I wanted to know how it happens, how America captures the heart of the prince, especially with another man in her life – oh how I despise love triangles. But then there was this other thought that I didn’t want to read about girls being forced to fight for over a man and it being public. It’s embarrassing, humiliating, unhuman. Additionally, I’m not the biggest fan of dystopias. I think what finally won me over was not only the curiosity about how it would all play out and why three books were needed to get there, but the fact that my library had an English edition of the first book. So there.

Well, in this book, I got so much more than I expected. It wasn’t, to my relief, as cheap and chliché as I feared it would be. Most of the development made sense and wes well-explained – even if some clichés just wouldn’t go away to convince me of this one hundred percent. And there was even a political agenda in all of this – thus explaining the three books, I think. But, most of all, I liked the unexpected relationship that forms between America and the prince (even if Maxon appears to be much more invested in it). This is what made me want to read the second book, this is what made it a great romance.

And I knew that the beginning with Aspen was too easy. Arg, love-triangles.

Towards the end, I was completely in love with the idea of the story – even if not with all aspects of development and its characters – and I felt, admittedly, slightly more interest for the side story of the rebels than the selection/America. But, her final sentence must be shared:

“No I’m not choosing him or you. I’m choosing me.”

 

Rating

Idea: 4 Stars
Characters: 4 Stars
Realization: 5 Stars
Writing Style: 4 Stars
General Rating: 4 Stars
Personal Rating: 4 Stars

Leave a Reply

