Lydia’s Enchanted Toffee by Neale Osborne

Book Title: Lydia’s Enchanted Toffee
Series: Lydia #1
Author: Neale Osborne
Fiction/Non-Fiction: Fiction
Genre: Children/Fantasy
Number of Pages: N/A
Publisher: Likrish Publishing
Date: 5 February – 30 April 2016
Rating: 2.9 Stars

Kindly thanking NetGalley for giving me a copy in exchange for an honest review.

This is probably the book which contained the most fantastic elements that I have ever read, and it disguised them at times so well that the world appeared to be almost like ours. The creation of the texture of this world and the words creating them, wow. Sometimes I just sat there and wondered how this was possible to do without losing sense. Perhaps the book and its wordplays were even more fascinating to me, as I am not a native speaker of English.

Since this was a very fantastic book, for many elements and features that were imagined I was very grateful that the book was illustrated. The sketches were a little rough and had a scary edge to it, but they fulfilled their purpose in showing me exactly how to imagine this monster, that creature, sweet, or character.

But while I marvelled at the Candi World (and, admittedly, sometimes felt a bit sick when things became too sweet), I wasn’t always too happy about the rest of the book. There was the language, which was clearly assimilated to its children target group, a bit naïve, but it was heavily contrasted by the sometimes overly violent events. They were often made to sound sweet and danger-free, but really picturing them, I was shocked. I was very happy, and only half-surprised, but satisfied, by the magical progress, though felt that the end was a bit too power-hungry and even with all the remaining magic, utterly too big for a ten-year-old main character to cope with.

Most of all, however, on a very personal level, I disliked Alazander and what he left behind. That almost made me stop reading. Luckily, he wasn’t a main character.

Ah, if only there were real sweets that have a wonderful magic effect in your body that doesn’t include an expanding waistline.

Despite elements that were almost too much for me, I generally quite enjoyed reading this book. It was fun, inventive, as real as can be, original. I am very torn about rating this one.

Rating

Idea: 4 Stars
Plot Development: 3 Stars
Pace: 4 Stars
Characters: 3 Stars
Quality of Writing: 2 Stars
Ease of Reading: 3 Stars
Insightfulness: 3 Stars
Cover/Photos/Illustrations: 3 Stars
Enjoyability/Personal Rating: 1 Stars
General Rating: 3 Stars

Leave a Reply

