Book Shopping April and May 2016

Confession Time: I went a bit absolutely crazy in the past two months. I already shared that big shopping trip at the end of March, and the other one I had for my birthday at the beginning of April. Unfortunately, I have to admit that it didn’t stop there. And, honestly, I don’t know where the money for it came from. Do I regret it? You are so funny!

But I started writing this blog in the middle of May because I was determined not to have to edit it anymore in terms of length. I meant to not buy another book that month. I was really sure I wouldn’t, I couldn’t allow it. I was mostly sure. I… What? No, I didn’t buy another book.

Anyways, books of April and May. Here we go:

Shadow Magic

Shadow Magic by Joshua Khan

Ordered: April 3

Delivered: April 20 (It was ordered ahead of publication and had to come to Germany all the way from the US.)

I’ve already read it, and, as my review said, ordering it wasn’t a conscious decision. It just sort of happened, and, boy, was I happy about that. It’s a wonderful, scary read with wonderful, scary characters.

THORN, an outlaw’s son, wasn’t supposed to be a slave. He never should have run away from home, leaving his mother and siblings to fend for themselves. Now he’s been sold to Tyburn, an executioner, and they’re headed to Castle Gloom in Gehenna, the land of the undead, where Thorn will probably be fed to a vampire.
LILITH SHADOW wasn’t supposed to be ruler of Gehenna. But on the terrible day her father, mother, and brother were killed, young Lily became the last surviving member of the House Shadow, a long line of dark sorcerers. Her country is surrounded by enemies, and the only way she can save it is by embracing her heritage and practicing magic of the undead. But how can she, when to her – a girl – magic is forbidden?
Just when it looks like Lily will have to leave her home forever, Thorn arrives at Castle Gloom. A sudden death brings them together, inspires them to break the rules, and leads them to soar to new heights in this fantasy with all the sparkle and luster of a starry night sky.

P.S. I Like You

P.S I Like You by Kasie West

Ordered: April 4

Delivered: (Probably August 5)

Yes, it hasn’t come out yet, but I really had to have it, and make sure I’d get it, too. Can’t wait for August.

Signed, sealed, delivered…
While spacing out in Chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk, and added a message to her. Intrigue!
Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters — sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery, and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…
Kasie West brings irresistible wit, warmth, and sparkle to this swoon-worthy story of love showing up when you least expect it.

[Source: Amazon.de]

The Star-Touched Queen

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chockshi

Ordered: April 8 (Oh, look, my birthday!)

Delivered: May 10

First, there was the cover. Second, there was the title. And if that hadn’t been enough, there was the blurb. It not only has a storyline that I would and could read over and over again, I am also curious about diving into a different culture and folklore – especially one I know so little about.
There is also that curiosity of predictions, how they can influence your life, and how they can be misinterpreted in so many ways. I can’t wait to read the correct interpretation in this case!

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?
Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of Death and Destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…
But Akaran has its own secrets — thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most. . .including herself.
A lush and vivid story that is steeped in Indian folklore and mythology.
The Star-Touched Queen is a novel that no reader will soon forget.

[Source: Amazon.de]

His Dark Materials

His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

Ordered: April 8

Delivered: April 11

This is the Gift Edition which includes all the novels: Northern Light, The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass. I read the books, in German, a very long time ago – ten years, I suppose. (That’s an extremely long time for me, I’m not that old.) And I remember I loved it, even though I cried at the end, and wouldn’t understand and accept it, and it has haunted me ever since. But the fantasy of it is what brought me back when they made a movie of it, and finally what made me buy it to reread it. I can’t wait to get started.

Northern Lights introduces Lyra, an orphan, who lives in a parallel universe in which science, theology and magic are entwined. Lyra’s search for a kidnapped friend uncovers a sinister plot involving stolen children and turns into a quest to understand a mysterious phenomenon called Dust. In The Subtle Knife she is joined on her journey by Will, a boy who possesses a knife that can cut windows between worlds. As Lyra learns the truth about her parents and her prophesied destiny, the two young people are caught up in a war against celestial powers that ranges across many worlds and leads to a thrilling conclusion in The Amber Spyglass.
The epic story Pullman tells is not only a spellbinding adventure featuring armoured polar bears, magical devices, witches and daemons, it is also an audacious and profound re-imagining of Milton’s Paradise Lost. An utterly entrancing blend of metaphysical speculation and bravura storytelling,
HIS DARK MATERIALS is a monumental and enduring achievement.

[Source: Amazon.de]

Ruined

Ruined by Amy Tintera

Ordered: April 8

Delivered: May 7

This is another example of books I just had to have after reading the blurb. The kind of story I love. First anger, then understanding and possibly love. This one is very high on my to read-pile.

Emelina Flores has nothing. Her home in Ruina has been ravaged by war; her parents were killed and her sister was kidnapped. Even though Em is only a useless Ruined—completely lacking any magic—she is determined to get revenge.
Her plan is simple: She will infiltrate the enemy’s kingdom, posing as the crown prince’s betrothed. She will lead an ambush. She will kill the king and everything he holds dear, including his son.
The closer Em gets to the prince, though, the more she questions her mission. Her rage-filled heart begins to soften. But with her life—and her family—on the line, love could be Em’s deadliest mistake.

[Source: Amazon.de]

Eternity.Ewig ist zu lang

Eternity – Ewig ist zu lang by Andalie Herms

Ordered and delivered: April 10 (kindle ebook)

It’s been a while ago, since I decided to get this one, and I honestly don’t remember why I had to have it. I suppose the mix of the supernatural with music.
It appears to be an insta-love kind of story – which I honestly never mind, gimme! Chris, a rock singer, has a century-old secret in which Mariella somehow gets involved. Chris has to decide between an oath and a girl.
Read my review here.

Liebe und Spannung, gewürzt mit Fantasy und einem Hauch Erotik
Sie leben unerkannt unter uns, die Wächter der Musen.
Mariella lebt nur für ihren Job und ihren kleinen Bruder. Als sie Rocksänger Chris kennenlernt, ahnt sie nicht, dass er Träger eines jahrhundertealten Geheimnisses ist. Und obwohl Chris sie nicht in Gefahr bringen will, stellt er ihr Leben gehörig auf den Kopf.
Doch auch für Chris ist nichts mehr, wie es war. Er muss sich entscheiden: Steht er zu seinem Eid und zu seinen Freunden oder wählt er die Liebe? Und wird Mariella zu ihm stehen, wenn sie erfährt, wer er wirklich ist?

Eine spannende Geschichte über Freundschaft, Verlust und die ganz große Liebe – nicht nur zur Musik.

[Source: Amazon.de]

Reforming Lord Ragsdale

Reforming Lord Ragsdale by Carla Kelly

Ordered and delivered: April 26 (kindle ebook)

This buy was totally goodreads’ fault. They keep recommending these awesome sounding books, and then you read the summary and then suddenly you are on Amazon and you own a new book. This is one of many examples. And really, a lovely regency romance, where you know there will be a relieving happy end, how can you help yourself?

“Don’t cry, Emma,” he said.
“I’m not crying,” she murmured, attempting to wipe away the tears.
“Thank goodness for that,” he replied, keeping his tone light. “ ’Pon my word, Emma, I hope you are worth five thousand pounds.”
The infamous Lord Ragsdale is as rich as sin, as sinful as he is rich, and as heartless as he is handsome. But after he saves Emma from a life of indentured servitude and shame, Emma decides that it is her personal duty to save him from his wicked ways.
Step one—stop his drinking, his gaming, and his wild revelry.
Step two—make him break up with his mistress, the superbly sensual Fae Moullé, and transform him into a suitable suitor for the ideal wife that prim and proper Lady Clarissa Partridge would be.
Step three—don’t fall in love with him.

Bestselling author Carla Kelly proves once again that love, transformation, and spontaneity are the best ingredients for an exquisite romance.”

[Source: Amazon.de]

With This Ring

With This Ring by Carla Kelly

Ordered and delivered: April 26 (kindle ebook)

But once the goodreads devil has got a hold of you and sent you off to the depth of the Amazon, you are completely lost. Because there are so many other books, similar books, either by author, or by other buyers and readers, and here I was with yet another new book to read, one that interested me even more than the previous one – I already read it, find the review here.
By the way, with this one, had I read the summary on goodreads, I wouldn’t have wanted it as badly as the Amazon summary, so here’s the Amazon one:

The year is 1814, and Lydia Perkins is in London for the Season. Sadly, the Perkins don’t care if Lydia makes a suitable match. All her mother’s hopes lie in the beautiful but vapid Kitty, and Lydia is expected to answer her every whim. In an effort to mix with the ton, the sisters find themselves at St. Barnabas Church, gawking at the soldiers wounded at the Battle of Toulouse, the final battle that sent Napoleon into exile at Elba. Kitty faints prettily and is revived by a pair of admiring dandies, but Lydia is drawn to the suffering of the men. Among them is Major Sam Reed, grievously wounded himself, but in fact an earl: Lord Laren of Laren Hall, Northumberland. Major Reed could be recovering in comfort, but instead he chooses to stand by his men. Despite her parents’ objections, Lydia returns to nurse the soldiers. As she learns the joy of being useful, she and Major Reed become friends. Finally he makes a curious proposal: Would she marry him, be his wife in name only, and travel with him to Northumberland? During the war, he invented a wife to appease his rich aunt. If he doesn’t produce “Delightful Saunders” in the flesh, he stands to lose his fortune. Can Lydia leave her indifferent family and embark on her first real adventure? She discovers that not every adventure is a pleasant one, as she falls in love with a man who might see her as merely a means to an end.

[Source: Amazon.de]

Infinite Time

Infinite Time by H.J. Lawson, Jane Lawson

Ordered: April 29 (kindle ebook)

Delivered: (Probably June 26; date of publication)

It’s been a while now that I’ve just had to have anything to do with time travel. That topic really fascinates me. I don’t know if it started with watching Doctor Who, or if I just secretly hope they all end up in the regency era, but, basically, give me time travel, and I will want to read it.
I’ve read it and the review is in works – bare with me.

Save the girl.
Save the day.
Save yourself.
The mission sounds easy enough, but it is anything but easy for Parker Jenkins. Yesterday, ordinary, poverty-stricken Parker was an ordinary high school kid, getting bullied relentlessly and trying to get by. Today, he’s a time traveler with gifted powers expected to carry out the extraordinary. Teaming up with another time traveler, Scarlet, they must save an innocent girl on the run before the villains kill them all. If they don’t, their present-day selves will die. But can the ordinary perform the extraordinary?

[Source: Amazon.de]

Uprooted

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Ordered: May 4

Delivered: May 7

I’ve seen this book before, considered it, but my rational side was stronger. And then there was a newsletter and it contained a list of books by Rick Riordan that inspired him, and this was one of them, and suddenly I had it ordered. It’s weird how these things happen, right? It’s another one of those books from a different cultural background from my own and different from what I usually read, so I am looking forward to that.
Plus, we all can see how it is totally comparable to The Beauty and the Beast, right? It’s kind of one of my favourite fairytales.

“Our Dragon doesn’t eat the girls he takes, no matter what stories they tell outside our valley. We hear them sometimes, from travelers passing through. They talk as though we were doing human sacrifice, and he were a real dragon. Of course that’s not true: he may be a wizard and immortal, but he’s still a man, and our fathers would band together and kill him if he wanted to eat one of us every ten years. He protects us against the Wood, and we’re grateful, but not that grateful.”
Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.
Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood.
The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows—everyone knows—that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn’t, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.
But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose.

[Source: Amazon.de]

Nur einmal verführt

Nur einmal verführt: Liebesroman by Isabelle Johansson

Ordered and Delivered: May 4 (kindle ebook)

I think I had to have this book, because it is exactly what I would have gone for in those days that I’ve been an avid, slightly obsessed and totally addicted reader of Twilight Fanfiction, AU. Because… I don’t know. I suppose because they are such opposites and nothing should ever get them together, but they turn out to be perfect for each other, and there is a guaranteed happy end. Sometimes you have to give something this obvious to your heart.

Sie: jung, schüchtern, Wollpulliträgerin. Er: oberflächlich, durchtrainiert, Sunnyboy.
Dazu nehme man eine unverhoffte Schwangerschaft und eine geerbte Immobilie, in der nur einer von beiden seine Zukunftspläne verwirklichen kann. Das Chaos ist perfekt!
Sarah ist zufrieden mit ihrem ruhigen Leben. Männer? Fehlanzeige. Doch dann stellt ein einziger One-Night-Stand ihre kleine, überschaubare Welt völlig auf den Kopf: Sie ist schwanger. Nicht von dem bodenständigen Mann ihrer Träume, sondern ausgerechnet von diesem Sam, einem oberflächlichen Schönling, wie er im Buche steht.
Noch immer überwältigt von ihrer neuen Lebenssituation, wirbelt das Schicksal noch einmal alles durcheinander: Sie erbt ein kleines, heruntergekommenes Café, in das sie sich sofort verliebt. Hier könnte sie eine Zukunft für sich und das Baby aufbauen – wenn nicht die Herausforderungen eines eigenen Geschäfts und die Schwangerschaft sie an den Rand ihrer Kräfte treiben würden.
Um das Chaos perfekt zu machen, hat der Vater ihres ungeborenen Kindes ganz andere Pläne. Angestachelt von seinem Kumpel, der sich von Sarah um sein Erbe betrogen fühlt, will er mit diesem gemeinsam in den Räumen des Cafés ein eigenes Fitnessstudio eröffnen. Sam sieht darin eine große Chance, endlich seinen ärmlichen Verhältnissen zu entkommen.
Sarah und Sam stehen sich schnell als Gegner gegenüber, können aber nicht verhehlen, dass da noch immer diese irritierend prickelnde Anziehung zwischen ihnen herrscht.
Es entspinnt sich eine Geschichte voller unterdrückter Gefühle, Gewissenskonflikte, Intrigen und einer großen Frage: Wessen Traum wird in Erfüllung gehen? Oder gibt es doch eine gemeinsame Zukunft?

[Source: Amazon.de]

Cinderfella

Cinderfella by Xavier Neal, Kim Collins

Ordered and Delivered: May 5

Mostly, see above. Except I’ve read a few reviews, and I do wonder why I still had to have it. Because this one just almost cannot end in an all-encompassing happy end that’ll make my heart soar. I do, however, have hopes that it will make the very best of all of their bad and sad situations.
I’ve had since time to read it and here’s the review.

Perfect body. Perfect car. Perfect life. So, what could a girl like that ever want from a guy like me? The guy with holes in his sneakers. The guy who can barely afford to eat. The guy with an unexpected secret. What could a princess like that want from me? After all fairy tales don’t exist in real life…do they?

[Source: Amazon.de]

Per Anhalter durch die Galaxis

Per Anhalter durch die Galaxis by Douglas Adam

Physically bought: May 13

Yes, this one I actually bought in a shop. I didn’t order it from Amazon. In my defence for over-using Amazon and not helping out the little book shops around the corner (not that we really have many of them around here), they just don’t have the most recent books and in English. And I am honestly too impatient to wait for them to order them, or wait for the German translation, or for the UK edition, which they will more likely have in their extremely small English books section.
Rant over.
Why this book: Well, I admit I wasn’t looking for this one. I had heard about it, seen the film, wasn’t quite convinced but always a bit curious. I had looked through the (previously mentioned extremely small) English book section of the shop. Not interested or already owned and read. I had looked through the books in the YA section. German. Not interested. Read already. So, on I went to Fantasy and Science Fiction, and look what I found. I almost went for – but actually, when I do read that one, I really want to read it in English. So, I went for the Hitchhiker’s Guide, which was also a bit cheaper. I’m totally and so out of money at this point. Anyways, the book’s quite alright, once you get used to it. Find my review here.

Vor 30 Jahren wurde von einem der größten Verlage Ursa Minors (und der Erde) das bemerkenswerteste Buch, das je veröffentlicht wurde, der Menschheit zugänglich gemacht: Per Anhalter durch die Galaxis.
Für Arthur Dent ist es ein ganz normaler Donnerstag, bis sein Haus von Planierraupen niedergewalzt wird. Kurz darauf wird allerdings auch die gesamte Erde von einem vogonischen Bautrupp plattgemacht, weil sie einer Hyperraum-Umgehungsstraße weichen muss. Aber da hat sich Arthurs bester Freund schon längst als Alien entpuppt, und sie sausen durchs Weltall mit nichts als ihren Badetüchern und einem harmlos wirkenden Buch, auf dem in großen, freundlichen Buchstaben »KEINE PANIK« steht.
Und dabei hat das Wochenende gerade erst angefangen…

 

PS: This list does not contain books I have been provided with by the goodreads giveaway and netgalley/netgalleyDE. They did give me books, these lovely people. And I can’t wait to read them, too, or I already have, or I am currently reading them. Books are so very wonderful! And people giving me books are too.

Leave a Reply

